Ophthalmology Department specialized in AMD

The Ophthalmology Department of the Centre Hospitalier Intercommunal de Créteil (CHIC) has a both surgical and clinical services, this translates into more than 25000 patients seen every year in the Ophthalmology department alone.
The Ophthalmology Department is particularly specialized in Age Related Macular Degeneration (wet and dry AMD) and in research concerning these conditions.

Watch our video about AMD : patients and ophthalmologists are speeking about AMD care in Créteil.

A nurse is speeking to a patient in IVT room

AMD is the departments’ main activity, with other important retinal diseases being covered such as retinal vein occlusions, diabetic retinopathy, inherited retinal diseases, inflammatory retinal diseases (posterior uveitis), pediatric retinal diseases and myopic maculopathy. In order to respond to the needs of our surrounding population, the Ophthalmology Department at the CHIC also has a large consultation in other Ophthalmic non retinal diseases such as cataract, glaucoma, anterior segment diseases and oculoplastics.

Our Department has different activities:consultations by-appointment, urgent walk in (medical and surgical) as well as an in patient (hospitalized) section. The surgical team at our Department performs surgery on well over 2000 patients every year. Urgent AMD walk ins are seen everyday without appointment from 8:30 to 12:00. There exists another antenna of the Ophthalmology Department at the Henri Mondor Hospital.

The Ophthalmology Department is equiped with a recent technical plateau, which allows patients to benefit from advanced diagnostic and therapeutic technology, amongst an experienced and well trained internationally renowned team.

Age Related Macular Degeneration (AMD)

In population over 50 years old, AMD is the first cause of blindness in France. Over one million Frenchmen and women are affected by this disease. About 30% of the population over 75 years of age have AMD.

The macula corresponds to the anatomical central region of the retina. Its integrity allows a flawless and detailed central vision. Macular disease can present as a decline in central vision, or also a central dark spot and deformations of the central visual field.

On the long term, it can become a real handicap for people affected by this disease.

Your Ophthalmologist at Créteil

After 50 years of age, it is very important to have regularly scheduled check ups of the back of the eye (the retina, or also known as fundus exams). By having these check ups performed by your ophthalmologist, he can diagnose, observe and treat age related retinal diseases.

All international studies have demonstrated the importance of the early diagnosis and treatment in AMD. Treatment for AMD that is started early ensures a better visual outcome.

Also, the Ophthalmology Department at the CHIC in partnership with the Association DMLA, organizes every year Screening Campaigns in all of France as well as in our establishment, with the purpose of sensibilizing the population on the early signs and symptoms of this disease.

To request an appointment or in order to have some more information on retinal diseases, you can contact us by phone at 01 45 17 52 30, or by mail (for appointments only): rendezvous@creteilophtalmo.fr.

Éric Souied, Head of the Department of Ophthalmologie at the Centre Hospitalier Intercommunal de Créteil, Professor at the faculté de médecine de l’université Paris-Est Créteil, founding President of the Association DMLA and President of the Fédération France Macula, is a specialist on AMD.

Pr Souied

Avec la DMLA, dois-je avoir une hygiène de vie particulière ?

Les éléments déterminant la dégénérescence maculaire liée à l’âge sont essentiellement des éléments non modifiables, comme l’âge et l’hérédité. Et donc il est important d’essayer d’agir sur certains facteurs que l’on peut néanmoins modifier. Certaines classes d’aliments sont essentiels à apporter dans l’alimentation pour soutenir la rétine. Ce sont d’une part les oméga-3, que l’on […]


Service d'ophtalmologie spécialisé dans la DMLA

Le service hospitalo-universitaire d’ophtalmologie de Créteil assure une activité mixte et variée, médicale et chirurgicale, permettant la prise en charge de plus de 25 000 patients par an.
Le service est plus particulièrement spécialisé dans la prise en charge de la dégénérescence maculaire liée à l’âge (DMLA), et les voies de recherches concernant cette pathologie.

Visionnez notre vidéo sur la DMLA : patients et ophtalmologistes parlent de la prise en charge de cette maladie à Créteil.

Une infirmière s'adresse à une patiente en salle d'IVT


La DMLA est la thématique principale du service. Sont associées l’ensemble des pathologies rétiniennes telles que les occlusions vasculaires, la rétinopathie diabétique, les rétinopathies pédiatriques, les dystrophies rétiniennes d’origine génétique, les pathologies inflammatoires ou les maculopathies myopiques. Afin d’assurer sa mission de service rendu à la population, le service d’ophtalmologie du CHIC assure également la prise en charge des autres atteintes ophtalmologiques non rétiniennes telles que la cataracte, le glaucome, les pathologies du segment antérieur, des voies lacrymales et des paupières.

Notre service regroupe différentes activités : des consultations sur rendez-vous, des urgences médico-chirurgicales ainsi qu’une hospitalisation traditionnelle et ambulatoire. L’équipe chirurgicale du service traite chaque année plus de 2000 patients. Des urgences DMLA sont assurées tous les matins sans rendez vous de 8 h 30 à 12 h. Il existe à l’hôpital Henri Mondor une antenne du service d’ophtalmologie du centre hospitalier intercommunal de Créteil.

Le service est équipé d’un plateau technique récent, faisant ainsi bénéficier les patients des avancées technologiques diagnostiques et thérapeutiques, au sein d’une équipe expérimentée et internationalement reconnue.

La dégénérescence maculaire liée à l’âge (DMLA)

Parmi la population de plus de 50 ans, la DMLA représente la première cause de cécité en France. Plus d’un million de français sont touchés par cette maladie. Ce sont environ 30 % des personnes âgées de plus de 75 ans dans les pays développés.

La macula correspond à la région anatomique centrale de la rétine. Son intégrité permet une vision nette et fine des détails. Une altération de la macula peut entraîner une baisse de la vision centrale, ainsi qu’une tache sombre et des déformations dans le champ visuel central.

A terme, il peut s’agir d’un véritable handicap pour les personnes touchées par cette pathologie.

Votre ophtalmologiste à Créteil

Après 50 ans, il est indispensable de réaliser un contrôle régulier du fond d’œil. Ainsi, votre ophtalmologiste peut dépister, surveiller ou traiter les pathologies rétiniennes liées à l’âge.

L’ensemble des études internationales ont démontré l’importance de la prise en charge précoce de la DMLA. Un traitement de la dégénérescence maculaire mis en œuvre précocement assure un meilleur pronostic visuel.

En outre, le service d’ophtalmologie organise des journées nationales annuelles d’information et de dépistage en partenariat avec l’association DMLA, sur toute la France ainsi que dans nos locaux, afin de sensibiliser la population sur les signes précurseurs de cette maladie et permettre une meilleure prise en charge des patients.

Pour prendre un rendez-vous ou pour de plus amples renseignements sur les pathologies rétiniennes, vous pouvez nous contacter par téléphone au 01 45 17 52 30, ou par courriel (uniquement pour les rendez-vous) : ophrendezvous@chicreteil.fr.

Éric Souied, chef du service d’ophtalmologie du Centre Hospitalier Intercommunal de Créteil, professeur à la faculté de médecine de l’université Paris-Est Créteil, président fondateur de l’association DMLA et président de la Fédération France Macula, est un spécialiste des traitements de la dégénérescence maculaire.

Pr Souied