Exams in Use

The Ophthalmology Service of Créteil utilizes a technical platform incorporating numerous types of exams for clinical investigation. These techniques encompass retinal imaging and functional analysis including fluorescein angiography, Green Infracyanine angiography, optical coherence tomography (OCT), ocular ultrasound, visual field mapping and electrophysiology.

Fluorescein Angiography

Patient positioned for angiography
Patient positioned for angiography

Fluorescein angiography is a critical exam used to diagnose retinal pathology and in particular Age-related Macular Degeneration. Fluorescein, a vital dye, is injected into the antecubital vein. The dye emits a fluorescent light when stimulated by light of a particular wavelength. Angiography is performed by imaging the retina while the dye is circulating in the retinal vessels.

Angiograph utilizing fluorescein of choroidal neovessels in an exudative AMD (wet AMD) patient

Infracyanine Green Angiography

Infracyanine Green Angiography ICG utilizes a different dye, indocyanine or infracyanine green. ICG complements fluorescein angiography and allows exploration of the choroid, the vascular tissue beneath the retina. ICG is used in wet AMD as the technique permits the visualization of occult vessels, located under the retina. ICG is also utilized to diagnose the etiology of retinal inflammation.

ICG angiograph of occult neovasculature
ICG angiograph of occult neovasculature

Optical Coherence Tomography

OCT is an imaging modality that is rapid, painless and non-invasive in as much as it does not require an injection. OCT provides information that complements angiography.

OCT System: Chin and forehead rests for proper patient positioning in front of the objective
OCT System: Chin and forehead rests for proper patient positioning in front of the objective

In this technique, a beam of light using a laser source is beamed through the structures of the eye and a camera measures the time taken by the light echo to cross the ocular tissues, and be reflected back. It allows detailed analysis of the structures comprising the full thickness of the retina.

Normal OCT of the Fovea (central zone of the macula)
Normal OCT of the Fovea (central zone of the macula)
OCT of the fovea in an exudative AMD patient
OCT of the fovea in an exudative AMD patient

Ocular Ultrasound

Ocular ultrasonography uses ultrasound to explore the intra-ocular structures whenever visualization of the fundus is impossible. This may be due to a cataract or vitreous hemorrhage which prevents accurate observation of the retina. Ultrasound is also used to select an appropriate implant to replace a lens prior to cataract surgery.

Two modes of ultrasound are used in ophthalmology.

  • Mode «A» (amplitude mode) is the oldest. It consists of interpretation of the inflection of a line relative to a baseline. Every structure in the eye induces a peak or series of peaks corresponding to the «echo» of the structure.
  • Mode «B» (brightness mode) is currently the most utilized mode. The ultrasound is not linear but rather is a two-dimensional section of the globe, permitting a more detailed analysis.
Long axis ultrasound view in mode «B» guided by mode «A»: Cut of the right globe called the «transverse axial» view
Long axis ultrasound view in mode «B» guided by mode «A»: Cut of the right globe called the «transverse axial» view.

Visual Field Exam

The visual field exam is utilized in a number of pathologies. In Chronic glaucoma , this exam is especially important. Two types of visual field testing are performed: manual Goldmann perimetry and automated perimetry.

Goldmann visual field testing indicating cone dystrophy
Goldmann visual field testing indicating cone dystrophy

Electroretinography

Electroretinography (or ERG) consists of a measurement of the electrical activity of retinal cells while the cells are stimulated with a light source. The trace obtained during the measurement records the responses of of cones and rods, the photoreceptors (visual cells) of the eye. This complementary exam is particularly important in the diagnosis of genetic diseases and retinal degeneration.

ERG tracing (short protocol)
ERG tracing (short protocol)

Examens pratiqués

Le service d’ophtalmologie de Créteil dispose d’un plateau technique comportant plusieurs moyens d’investigation clinique. Ces techniques d’imagerie rétinienne et d’analyse fonctionnelle comprennent l’angiographie à la fluorescéine, l’angiographie au vert d’infracyanine, la tomographie en cohérence optique, l’échographie oculaire, le champ visuel et l’électrophysiologie.

L’angiographie à la fluorescéine

Patient positionné pour l'angiographie
Patient positionné pour l’angiographie

L’angiographie à la fluorescéine est l’examen clé pour le diagnostic des maladies rétiniennes et plus particulièrement de la dégénérescence maculaire liée à l’âge. La fluorescéine, qui est un colorant vital, est injectée dans une veine du pli du coude. Elle émet une lumière fluorescente lorsqu’elle est excitée par une lumière d’une certaine longueur d’onde. L’angiographie consiste à réaliser des photographies de la rétine lors du passage de la fluorescéine dans les vaisseaux rétiniens.

Aspect en angiographie à la fluorescéine des néovaisseaux choroïdiens dans la DMLA exsudative (dite DMLA humide)

L’angiographie au vert d’infracyanine

L’angiographie au vert d’infracyanine ou ICG utilise un autre colorant, le vert d’indocyanine ou d’infracyanine. Elle est complémentaire de la précédente et permet d’explorer la choroïde, c’est à dire le tissu vasculaire situé sous la rétine. Elle est utilisée dans la DMLA où elle permet de mieux identifier les néovaisseaux dits occultes, situés sous la rétine, mais aussi dans les maladies inflammatoires de la rétine.

Aspect en ICG de néovaisseaux occultes
Aspect en ICG de néovaisseaux occultes

La tomographie en cohérence optique

La tomographie en cohérence optique ou OCT est un procédé d’imagerie rapide, indolore et non invasif, dans la mesure où il ne nécessite aucune injection. L’OCT fournit des informations complémentaires aux images angiographiques.

Appareil OCT : mentonnière et repose-front pour le positionnement du patient face à l'objectif
Appareil OCT : mentonnière et repose-front pour le positionnement du patient face à l’objectif

Dans cette technique, un faisceau lumineux utilisant une source laser va traverser les structures de l’œil et l’appareil va mesurer le temps mis par l’écho lumineux pour traverser les tissus oculaires, être réfléchi et revenir. Il permet l’analyse fine des structures de l’épaisseur rétinienne.

Aspect en OCT d'une fovéa (zone centrale de la macula) normale
Aspect en OCT d’une fovéa (zone centrale de la macula) normale
Aspect en OCT lors d'une DMLA exsudative
Aspect en OCT lors d’une DMLA exsudative

L’échographie oculaire

L’échographie oculaire utilise les ultrasons pour explorer les structures intra-oculaires chaque fois que la visualisation du fond d’œil s’avère impossible. Il peut par exemple s’agir d’une cataracte ou d’une hémorragie dans le vitré qui empêche l’observation précise de la rétine. L’échographie est également utilisée pour déterminer la puissance de l’implant destiné à remplacer le cristallin en cas de chirurgie de la cataracte.
Deux modes d’échographie sont utilisés en ophtalmologie.

  • Le mode «A» (mode amplitude) est le plus ancien. Il consiste à interpréter les inflexions d’une ligne par rapport à une ligne de base, chaque structure de l’œil se traduisant par un pic ou une série de pics correspondant à l’«écho» de cette structure.
  • Le mode «B» (mode brillance) est actuellement le plus utilisé. En effet, l’échogramme n’est plus linéaire mais il représente une coupe en deux dimensions du globe oculaire dont l’analyse est ainsi plus accessible.
Mesure de la longueur axiale en mode «B» guidé par le mode «A» : coupe de l'œil droit dite «axiale transverse»
Mesure de la longueur axiale en mode «B» guidé par le mode «A» : coupe de l’œil droit dite «axiale transverse»

L’examen du champ visuel

L’examen du champ visuel est utilisé dans diverses pathologies, en tête desquelles vient le glaucome chronique. Il existe deux types de champ visuel : la périmétrie manuelle de Goldmann et la périmétrie automatisée.

Champ visuel Goldmann indiquant une dystrophie des cônes
Champ visuel Goldmann indiquant une dystrophie des cônes

L’électrorétinogramme

L’électrorétinogramme ou ERG consiste à mesurer l’activité électrique des cellules rétiniennes lorsque celles-ci sont soumises à un stimulus lumineux. Le tracé obtenu enregistre la réponse des cônes et des bâtonnets, qui sont les photorécepteurs (cellules visuelles) de l’œil. Cet examen complémentaire est très utile pour le diagnostic des maladies génétiques et dégénératives de la rétine.

Tracé d'un ERG, protocole court
Tracé d’un ERG, protocole court